When I visited Putney, I had the opportunity to sit in on an all-school assembly. Similar to Foote's morning meeting, the Putney assemblies are a place for students and teachers to share something with the school, as well as listen to a guest speaker or two.

Right off the bat, they introduced me the the school, stating that there was a "special guest" visiting that day. I was getting a good vibe from Putney, and it was only the first few minutes.

But what really struck me was a girl who stood up in front of the entire school and delivered a speech that moved not only me, but almost every single person in the room.

She was making a public apology for a comment she had made a few weeks back-I don't know why said comment was, but that isnt important. No one made her apologize, and by the looks of it, she didn't HAVE to do it in front of everyone, including guests. But she wanted to. She wanted people to know how sorry she was for her actions.

And I think, in that moment, this girl unintentionally raised the bar for every other member of the Putney community- to show as much character as she did, and as much courage.

Just something to think about.
~Blue*Star



Leave a Reply.